Skip to content

Summer Brunch

July 16, 2012

Anyone up BRUNCH!!   Brunch is my favorite meal.   I absolutely love having a yummy brunch with lots of mimosas!  So when I woke up one morning last week with a hair-brain idea that I was going to just “throw together” a little gathering for the ladies, brunch seemed like the perfect idea.   Since I threw this together so last minute, I kept the design for the brunch very simple.  Unlike other parties I have held I decided to keep the decorations really simple and let the food stand out the most.

Recently I have feel in love with the look of chevron stripes.   About a month ago I purchased some pink chevron stripe table runners and have been looking for the perfect time to use them.   Because the table runners were such a soft pink I keep everything very sweet, yet simple and not over the top.  The backdrop I created for the main display table was solid white with a light yellow, blush, dark pink, gray, oxford, and powder tassels hung from it.  For the table itself, I always start with my white dish ware (which I am a collector of).  My new white cake stand was the perfect centerpiece.   To spice up the table and add levels I wrapped card board boxes in pink paper.  LOVE the way it all came together!!

The menu consisted of mini blueberry muffins, cake pops, donuts, push pop cakes, vegan cupcakes, fruit infused jello, chocolate cover Oreos, chocolate covered strawberries, shot glass yogurt parfait, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, collards, orange zest salmon, baked chicken, smoothies, and my world FAMOUS pasta salad. I wanted to give the ladies an assortment of different foods in small portions so they could try everything and not feel guilty!  I also had a mimosa bar with fresh cut strawberries and peaches. We definitely didn’t run out of food or drinks!

As far as activities?  Sorry to disappoint…no games here!  Just a group of ladies chatting it up and enjoying each other’s company!!  It was such a great Saturday morning/afternoon.

And, of course, like most of my parties, I ran out of time to do everything I had in my head and there are things that I would go back and tweak or remember to take pictures of that got missed!  Egg on my face for those!  But big thanks to my fiancé and sister for stepping in at the last minute and helping bake and setup.  Next time I will give myself more than 1 week to plan.

PARTY HIGHLIGHTS to look out for:

–        Smoothies in frappuccino bottles

–         Yogurt parfaits, I used tall shot glasses and layered vanilla yogurt, fresh strawberries, and granola.

–         Jello shots infused with fresh fruit

Mimosa Bar:
Mimosas make a brunch, if you ask me! Champagne, juices, and fresh berries!

Dining Table:
For the main table I pushed two 6ft tables together to make one large table that all the ladies could sit around.  Because all the ladies didn’t know each other I wanted to setup an experience where we would all be able to engage.  What’s better than a big square table where everyone can see each other?   Two chevron pattern table runners ran down the middle of each table.

One of my favorite details on the dining table where my mason jars with pewter daisy cut lids.  About a month ago I purchased these lids with no purpose, so I was excited to be able to use them for the first time at brunch.   The lids turned an ordinary mason jar into a fancy drink, with a perfect sized hole on top for a paper straw!

The Ladies:

I hope you all felt welcomed into this little peek of my brunch with the ladies. Cheers!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Yasmin permalink
    July 16, 2012 11:13 AM

    I love it! Such a creative refreshing way to take a break from life challenges! Any suggestions for a creative housewarming?!?

  2. July 16, 2012 11:33 AM

    Love it all…i can’t wait for the next one so I can go. Great job Kim

  3. Chauntea Marie permalink
    July 16, 2012 4:29 PM

    I had an amazing time! You are the best little festivities planner!

Leave a Reply

