Skip to content

Spooky Forest Costume Party

October 31, 2012

BOO!  It’s Halloween time which means costumes and candy…YAH!!! I have never been big on celebrating Halloween and dressing up, but having a kid has changed my outlook on the holiday.  I once thought the holiday was all about how skimpy your costume was or how devilish you looked.  Since having a kid I realized it is more about the dressing up, the pretend, the candy, the fun, did I mention the CANDY!

Last year we hosted a massive kid friendly costume party (which I will finally blog about this week) with over 40 to 50 people.  Somewhere along the way I lost count and just started having fun.  However, this year Halloween came right in the middle of our wedding planning (see last post) so I was reluctant to spend money to have a party.  Then I saw a free Spooky Forest printable design by Anders Ruff in Better Homes and Garden.  The printable collection was super cute, and did I mention FREE.  So I decided I just had to throw a get together to use the collection.  I decided to make it small, just a handful of boys that my son enjoyed playing with.  Sprinkle one little princess in there and you have yourself the cutest “Spooky Forest Costume Party”!

Bats, spiders, spooky trees, owls… oh my!!

PARTY HIGHLIGHTS to look out for:

– DIY treat table bat backdrop
– DIY lollipop covers
– Pin the Bat on the Moon party game
– Pumpkin decorating
– DIY crayon boxes
– DIY bat box favors
– Party favor boxes


“Arrrrr!…HAPPY HALLOWEEN!”

*****

PARTY DETAILS…

I wanted to host a part that was affordable and easy.  Because of hurricane Sandy and the constant rain I had to set up the party indoors.  It worked perfectly given that the walls in my house are orange and deep purple.  How Halloween appropriate?! The hardest part was coming up with activities for the kids to do indoors.

DECOR

Almost all of the decorations were used in last year’s Halloween party or were DIY projects made by me. Below are details on some of my favorites:

Bat Treat Table Backdrop: This really set the tone for the whole event, and I LOVED IT.  It was a easy DIY project that was visually striking and super cheap! I purchased a 5 foot piece of foam board from Office Max and two yards of black/grey fabric from WalMart.  I then used a stapler to staple the fabric to the foam board.  I think it cost a total of about $25 for the fabric and board. I then cut black paper bats, in different sizes, from cardstock.  I stapled the bats to the backdrop and draped black Halloween webs on the side for even more spookiness.

– Spiders: Over sized spiders hung from the ceiling, walls, and coat hanger at the door.  The spider at the door was a spooky greeting for the kids.

– Lollipop Display: I printed the Anders Ruff forest-theme lollipop covers onto cardstock and cut them out.  I then punched a hole in the center of the lollipop covers and inserted a flat lollipop.  A small piece of double stick tape on the front and back of the lollipop (covered in plastic) held the lollipop cover in place.  I placed the lollipops in cute white boxes and displayed on the treat table.

– Drink Bottles: I embellished my vintage milk glass jars with with a label wrap that fit the color scheme.

– Treat Boxes: I took Kraft and black gable boxes and wrapped bakers twine around them, securing with hot glue.  I then added a spooky party hanging tag to each box that said “Thank Hoo for coming”…lol

FOOD

I kept the food simple and kid friendly.  And, what is the most kid friendly food…Pizza.  Because I was craving tacos  I also made a yummy 7 layer dip shaped like a pumpkin to keep with the Halloween theme.

– Pizza
– Pumpkin Shaped 7 Layer Dip
– Cheese and Crackers
– Strawberry Pineapple Fruit Mix
– Vegan Pumpkin Cake with Vegan Cream Cheese

DESSERT TABLE

I kept the desserts very simple given that it was a Halloween party and the REAL dessert was the CANDY!

– Mummy Chocolate Covered Pretzel Rods
– Vanilla Cupcakes

ACTIVITIES

I planned a number of activities to keep the kids entertained throughout the evening.

Halloween Twister: Twister is a classic party game that is as much fun for kids today as it was decades ago. The Halloween version of the game replaced the RED, GREEN, YELLOW, and BLUE dots with pumpkins, skulls, bats, and owls.  Fun and physical, it is a great way to get the party started.

– Halloween Pins: I purchased classic Halloween symbol pins (pumpkin and bats) from the Target dollar section.  Each wooden pin came with 3 markers for coloring.  The kids were able to color there pins then adhere to their costumes.

– Skull Masks and Crayons: I purchased wooden skull masks on a stick from Michaels for each of the kids to color.  I then made my own crayon boxes that the kids were able to take home. In the crayon boxes I included all fall, spooky, and rustic color crayons.  The kids were able to color their mask and pose for a spooky picture.

– Movie: Charlie Brown and the Great Pumpkin Patch

Pin the Bat on the Moon: This is the Halloween-theme variation of a classic party game Pin the Tail on the Donkey.  This was a huge hit with the kids.  For this game I downloaded the Anders Ruff game board and had it printed at Office Max.  I then hand cut bats out of black cardstock for each of the kids.   One at a time, I blindfolded each participant, spin him/her around three times, and had them try to attach the bat to the moon.

Story Time: Inexpensive, easy, and a good way to get the kids to wind down.

– Pumpkin Decorating: Each of the kids got a medium size pumpkin and a pumpkin decorating kit.  The pumpkin decorating kits came with everything (paint, stickers, sticky legs and arms, hats, etc.) needed to transform the pumpkin into a mummy, vampire, witch, of skeleton.

– Tattoos: Another Target dollar section find.  Each child received a spooky Halloween tattoo.

– Cupcake Decorating: I baked vanilla cupcakes for each of the kids to decorate.  The kids were provided with frosting, candy, fondant creations and sprinkles to decorate with.  What messy FUN!

Everyone had a blast and the kids went home with a box full of tricks and treats.

*****

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2012 9:36 AM

    Love it! You are more than ‘slightly creative.’ I’m going to use your blog as a resource for kid parties for sure.

    • November 1, 2012 11:12 AM

      Thanks Kelly.

      P.S. I love the hair on you, the baby weight, and the new design work you are doing. Very cute earrings.

  2. November 1, 2012 9:36 AM

    Love it! You should professionally party plan! Great stuff Kim!

    • November 1, 2012 11:12 AM

      Thanks Bernadine. Cant wait till MJ is walking and ready to hang with the big boys so he can come to the parties.

Leave a Reply

